Student Congress

Photos submitted by Dr. Greta Marlow on 11/12/2006.

Bookmark and Share

Members of the Ozarks Forensics club and Student Congress course attended the Student Congress competition, held November 5-7 at the Arkansas state capitol. The competition is sponsored by the Arkansas State Communication Association. Those attending were: Seated, L-R: Lauren Christy, Brittney Flinn, Dustin Kulp
Standing, L-R: Robert Hines, Tabitha Reed, David Ray, Beverly Patterson, Mary Harper, Chadd Cromer.

David Ray and Tabitha Reed, co-authored a bill entitled "A bill recommending to the Congress of the United States that all pilots of commercial aircraft not considered 'Federal Flight Deck Officers' be required to lawfully arm themselves with a non-lethal weapon." The bill won first place in the Best Bill competition. It passed both the Senate and one of the Houses to be named a “Law of Congress” and will be forwarded to the governor.

Robert Hines took second place in Best Bill competition and was named winner of the Marguerite Metcalf award, a special award for a Senate delegate who best exemplified the “spirit of Congress.” David Ray co-authored the bill that took first place in Best Bill competition, and was also named Best Delegate for the Senate and was the highest-scoring delegate in the Senate for all schools.