Ozarks players named to All-ASC teams

Release Date: 4/1/1999

Clarksville, Ark. ---Ben Jones of Clarksville was named to the All-East Division first team and Ricky Johnson of North Little Rock was named East Division Freshman of the Year to lead University of the Ozarks' selections in the American Southwest Conference postseason awards, announced by the league office on Monday.

Jones, who led the Eagles with an 18.2 scoring average, was named to the five-player ASC East Division first team. The transfer from Arkansas Tech was among the nation's top field goal percentage shooters at 64 percent and also averaged 6.4 rebounds a game.

"Ben came in and played just one season for us, but it was an outstanding season," said Ozarks Coach Johnny Johnson. "He averaged over 18 points, which is the highest I've had a player average. He was consistent all season for us."

Johnson averaged 12.8 points as the Eagles' shooting guard.

"Ricky came on strong at the end of the season and certainly wasn't playing like a freshman in the end," said Johnson. "If he can continue to improve on his defense and ball-handling, he's got a bright future."
Ozarks junior guard Patrick Prater of Sherwood, who averaged 15.8 points a game, was named to the ASC East Division second team. Prater is a three-time All-ASC selection. Ozarks junior Daniel Shepherd of Dardanelle, who led the Eagles with 66 three-pointers, earned All-ASC honorable mention.
For the Lady Eagles, senior Erin Tyler of Springdale and Carla Rhodes of Hackett were both named to the East Division second team. Named as honorable mention picks for Ozarks were senior Amanda Dean of Alma and freshman Christie Shuffield of Dover, who recorded the first triple-double in Lady Eagles history against University of Dallas last month when she scored 19 points, and had 14 rebounds and a school-record 10 blocked shots.