Todd Turner Nets ASC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Award

Release Date: 5/30/2013

Clarksville, Ark.-University of the Ozarks sophomore Todd Turner earned the title of American Southwest Conference Distinguished Scholar-Athlete for men’s tennis, the league office announced on Wednesday (May 29).

Turner, a native of Pearcy, Ark., was one of ten student-athletes from the ASC to receive the winter/spring honor. Additionally, Texas-Dallas’ Kyle Schleigh, Louisiana College’s Natosha Gottlieb, Texas Lutheran’s Sean Kistler and Ashley Meadows, Concordia Texas’ Jack Cersosimo and Kayla Burch, East Texas Baptist’s Lya Swaner, , Mary Hardin-Baylor’s AshLee Bilbo, and Texas-Tyler’s Jake Waddingham have all earned the title in their respective ASC 2012-13 winter/spring sport. Overall, 106 student-athletes from basketball, baseball, golf, softball, tennis and track and field were named to the Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Teams.

The honor, in its sixth academic year, recognizes student-athletes that achieve a higher level of academic achievement (a 3.20 grade-point average or better) while competing as a starter or important reserve on their team. From that list – limited to one nominee per school in each ASC championship sport – the sports information directors from the conference’s 14 member institutions vote on a Distinguished Scholar-Athlete from each sport.

Turner, a biology major with a perfect 4.0 GPA, posted a program-best 14-2 doubles record and also owned a 12-4 record at No. 1 singles. His 12 wins ranked second at No. 1 singles in the ASC at the end of the regular season. An Honorable Mention All-Conference player in singles and doubles, Turner was named ASC Player of the Week once. Additionally, Turner fueled Ozarks to a program-best 12-4 overall record and the team received the program’s first ever regional ranking.


(+Sport’s Distinguished Scholar-Athlete)


+ Todd Turner, Ozarks

Nicholas Larzabal, East Texas Baptist

Jesse Rawlings, Hardin-Simmons

Carlos Cantu, LeTourneau

Nathan Boles, Louisiana College

Collin Davies, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Matthew Martin, Mississippi College

Nathan West, Schreiner

Geoffrey Schuette, Sul Ross State

Camden Cornwell, Texas-Dallas

Edward Timponi, Texas-Tyler

David Schneider, Texas Lutheran


+ AshLee Bilbo, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Kayla Franklin, East Texas Baptist

Genene Haddad, Hardin-Simmons

Larissa Lynskey, Howard Payne

Miranda Lamb, LeTourneau

Hannah Ingerson, Louisiana College

Abby Bassie, Mississippi College

Whitney Lewis, Ozarks

Kelley Spahn, Schreiner

Rachel Houston, Texas Dallas

Amy Friesenhahn, Texas-Tyler

Caitlin Zarr, Texas Lutheran


+ Kyle Schleigh, Texas-Dallas

Brett DeMetrotion, Concordia Texas

Erby Thompson, East Texas Baptist

Andy Spears, Hardin-Simmons

Jorden Young, Howard Payne

Phillip George, Louisiana College

Cory Meals, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Marcus Bobb, Ozarks

Manny Longoria, Schreiner

Juston Weldon, Sul Ross State

Dallas Bean, Texas-Tyler

Joseph Richardson, Texas Lutheran


+ Natosha Gottlieb, Louisiana College

Brianna Smith, Concordia Texas

Amanda Rucker, East Texas Baptist

Rachel Holik, Hardin-Simmons

Kayla Scott, Howard Payne

Julencia Curtis, LeTourneau

Samara Williams, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Lindsay England, Mississippi College

Jordyn Ferrell, Ozarks

Colby Adolph, Schreiner

Nicole Murdock, Sul Ross State

Kimmie Grimes, Texas-Dallas

Lauren Glasco, Texas-Tyler

Natasha Benavides, Texas Lutheran


+ Sean Kistler, Texas Lutheran

Brent Schaekel, Concordia Texas

Lance Anding, East Texas Baptist

James Simmons, Hardin-Simmons

Houston Holmes, Howard Payne

Garrett Methvin, LeTourneau

Chaston Lacaze, Louisiana College

Danny Horstman, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Brooks Fortenberry, Mississippi College

Sam Shook, Ozarks

Chris Whitehead, Schreiner

Josh Vasquez, Sul Ross State

Tanner Gandy, Texas-Dallas

Matt Sheppard, Texas-Tyler


+ Lya Swaner, East Texas Baptist

Christina Smith, Concordia Texas

Carley Willis, Hardin-Simmons

Jourdan Glover, LeTourneau

Katie Poerner, Howard Payne

Brianna Hall, Louisiana College

Caitlin Bollier, Mary Hardin-Baylor

Catherine Brand, Mississippi College

Shawnee Sorensen, Ozarks

Charis Sultemeier, Schreiner

Maile Hoyt, Sul Ross State

Hannah Creech, Texas-Dallas

Rachel Howell, Texas-Tyler

Megan Carmichael, Texas Lutheran