Volume 7 Issue # 15
Monday, April 25, 2005

Campus News

Commencement set for May 14
    Ozarks will confer degrees to approximately 130 graduates during the 171st Commencement ceremony at 10:30 a.m., Saturday, May 14, on the campus mall.
   Paul Greenberg, a Pulitizer Prize winning journalist and the editorial page editor of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, will be the featured speaker during Commencement. Kevin Cheek will present the greetings from the senior class and Dr. Stewart Dippel will present greetings from the faculty.
   The day will begin with a Baccalaureate Service in Munger Chapel beginning at 9 a.m. Several graduating seniors will serve as liturgists during the service. The Rev. Dr. James Struthers will provide the proclamation.
   There will be a mandatory rehearsal for all graduating seniors at 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, May 11, on the campus mall. Caps and gowns will be distributed during this time.

Students elect ’05-06 officials
    Lucia Gomez, a sophomore marketing and business administration major from Nicaragua, has been elected Student Government Association president for 2005-2006. Also elected to SGA positions were David Hamilton for vice president and Kari Overton for treasurer. Also winning were Tiffany Griffin as president of CAB, Chad Milligan as president of RHA and Valerie Powell as peer judicial board chair.

Study Night Breakfast May 9
   The annual Study Night Breakfast, where faculty and staff serve students a hearty breakfast to keep them going during finals week, will be held at 10 p.m., Monday, May 9, in the Student Center. Numerous prizes will also be given out. Don’t miss this evening of food and fun.

Student Awards ceremony set
    The 49th annual Student Awards Convocation will be held at 11 a.m., Tuesday, April 26, in Munger Chapel.
   The Student Awards Convocation will include the awarding of honors in each of the University’s four academic divisions as well as the Jones Learning Center and athletics. Scholarship recipients will also be announced and some of the University’s donors will be recognized. During the event, the Hurie Award winner will be announced. The Hurie Award is voted on by the faculty and is given to the outstanding senior of the graduating class.

SIFE qualifies for Nationals
   After presenting a report of their year-long community outreach projects to a panel of business leaders, the University of the Ozarks’ SIFE Team was named a SIFE USA Regional Champion in the overall competition and a finalist in the SIFE USA National Personal Financial Success Skills Competition sponsored by the HSBC Education Trust and the Corporate, Investment Banking and Markets Division of HSBC. The team will now advance to the national level of SIFE competition, at the SIFE USA National Exposition May 22-24 in Kansas City, Mo.
   During the current year, U of O’s SIFE executed 33 projects. They were able to reach 622,773 people by contributing 2,574 hours of hard work and enthusiasm with a total gross impression of 1,418,292 people. Their team reached new heights, impacting lives in several communities in the state of Arkansas and abroad (Panama, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador, and Guatemala.)

PBL receives recognition
   The University’s Phi Beta Lambda organization has been featured on the “Fire Corps” Web site for its recent community service project to aid Johnson County RFD #1 in fire prevention and safety. The initiative also won Ozarks’ PBL organization first place in the community service project category of the 2005 Arkansas PBL State Leadership Conference, held April 19th in Little Rock.
   U of O students volunteered almost 100 hours to help fill “goody bags” for Fire Prevention Week, work with the department’s smoke installation program, and assist with “Kidsfest,” the county’s fire and life safety fair.
   In addition to winning the community service project award at the PBL State Conference, the U of O organization won 18 first-place awards, 20 second-place awards and 16 third-place awards and was named the largest overall chapter and overall winner of the conference.
   PBL was named the Ozarks’ Organization of the Year during the Student Leadership Ceremony on April 21.

IACBE recognizes three
   Three people associated with Ozarks took home awards recently at the International Assembly for Collegiate Business Education (IACBE) 2005 annual meeting in San Antonio. U of O lifetime board of trustee member Dr. Rollie Boreham of Fort Smith was named the 2005 Business Leader of the Year. Ozarks President Dr. Rick Niece was given the organization’s 2005 Leadership in Education Award. Niece is the first recipient of the Leadership in Education Award, a new annual award presented by IACBE.
   Dr. Robert Hilton, chair of the university’s Business, Communications and Government Division, received a plaque for exemplary leadership and service in his role as chairman of the board of IACBE during the past year. During the 2005-2006 year, Hilton will serve as IACBE past chair and member of the board of directors, chair of the audit committee and member of the IACBE presidential search committee.

Final Exam Schedule:
May 9 – 12, 2005
Day Class Time Test Time
Mon. May 9 Period 3 (MWF 10:00-10:50) 8:00-10:00
  Period 7 (MWF 3:00-3:50) 10:30-12:30
  Period 4 (MWF 11-11:50) 1:00-3:00
  Period 6 (MWF 2:00-2:50) 3:30-5:30
  M/We Evening Classes 6:00-8:00
Tues. May 10 Period 1A (TR 8:00-9:30) 8:00-10:00
  Noon Classes 10:30-12:30
  Period 2 (MWF 9:00-9:50) 1:00-3:00
  Period 5A (TR 4:00-5:15) 3:30-5:30
  T/R Evening Classes 6:00-8:00
Wed. May 11 College&Inter Algebra 8:00-10:00
  Period 1(MWF 8:00-8:50) 10:30-12:30
  Period 5 (MWF 1:00-1:50) 1:00-3:00
  Period 8 (MWF 4:00-4:50) 3:30-5:30
Thur. May 12 Period 2A (TR 9:30-10:45) 8:00-10:00
  Period 4A (TR 2:30-3:45) 10:30-12:30
  Period 3A (TR 1:00-2:30) 1:00-3:00

Any information to be included in the Campus Communique can be done by calling the
PR office at (479)-979-1420, Larry Isch

Public Relations Office,
Mabee Administration Building,
Unversity of the Ozarks, Clarksville, AR 72830.
Phone: (479)-979-1420

Copyright 2001 The University of the Ozarks, Public Relations Office. All RIGHTS RESERVED.
URL: http://www.ozarks.edu/communique/index.html
Please submit questions or comments to webmaster@ozarks.edu.
Copyright 2001 The University of the Ozarks. All RIGHTS RESERVED.
All trademarks mentioned herein belong to their respective owners.
URL http://www.ozarks.edu/index.html