Volume 4 Issue # 15
Monday, April 29, 2002

Campus News
Commencement set for May 11
   U of O will hold its 168th Commencement ceremonies at 10:30 a.m., Saturday, May 11, on the campus mall. The university will confer approximately 90 undergraduate degrees to its Class of 2002, including 10 to students who completed degree requirements in December, according to Registrar Wilma Harris.
   The Commencement speaker will be Dr. Gerald “Jerry” Carr of Huntsville, Ark., a former NASA astronaut and a current member of the U of O Board of Trustees. While at NASA, Carr worked as a team member for the Apollo 8 and Apollo 12 missions as well as the commander of the Skylab 4 mission team.
   He is also a retired U.S. Marine Corps colonel, having received the National Defense Service Medal and the Marine Corps Expeditionary Medal. A member of the Astronaut Hall of Fame, Carr currently serves as vice president of CAMUS, Inc., which provides technical support in the area of zero gravity engineering, including design and evaluation of systems for the space station.
   The Commencement will be preceded by a Baccalaureate service at 9 a.m. in the university’s Munger Chapel. The service will include special music by Ozarks organist Dr. Sharon Gorman, the University Faculty and Staff Choir and Dr. David and Malea De Seguirant. University Chaplain Rev. Bill Woodard will give the proclamation.
   Anyone wanting to attend the lunch at Seay Cafeteria following Commencement must RSVP to the Registrar’s Office by May 6. The cost of the lunch is $6 per person, payable at the door.

There will be a mandatory Commencement rehearsal for graduating seniors
at 4:30 p.m., Thursday, May 9, on the campus mall. All graduating seniors must attend.
Seniors can pick up their caps and gowns during the rehearsal.

Awards Convocation scheduled
   The 46th annual Student Awards Convocation will be held at 11 a.m., Tuesday, April 30, in Munger Chapel.
   The annual event will include the presentation of divisional and departmental awards as well as university-wide awards, including the prestigious Hurie Award. The Hurie Award is given to the top graduating senior each spring. Many of the university’s endowed scholarships are also awarded during the Awards Convocation.
   Students, faculty and staff are encouraged to attend this exciting event, which is the culmination of and reward for a lot of hard work throughout the academic year. |

PBL shines at state conference

   The University of the Ozarks’ Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) chapter recently took home several top honors in the PBL 2002 State Leadership Conference held in Little Rock.
   Jose Urias, a senior accounting major from El Salvador, won first place in the Accounting for Professionals category. Urias teamed with Rebeca Aguilar and Maria Reyna to win top honors in Team Business Plan. The team of Urias, Rene Espinosa and Eric Safieh won first in Team Emerging Business Issues. Ozarks also won first in Team Desktop Publishing with Veronica Garcia and Adrianna Jasso.
   Ozarks’ second-place finishers included, Dewayne Lambert in Business Law; Auxi Guerrero in Business Principles; Urias in Finance; Sofia Avila in Hospitality Management; Rob Reynolds in Information Management; Suyapa Mansilla in Management; and Julie Carlton in Word Processing. The team of Marcos Gonzalez, Xochilt Ferrey and Maria Rodriguez took second place in Team Business Decision Making. Ozarks’ third-place finishers included, Julio Valdes in Hospitality Management and Eric Safieh in Information Management. The university also took third in the Largest Local Chapter Membership category among the more than 25 schools represented at the conference.
   The top two finishers in each category qualify for the National Leadership Conference, scheduled for June 23-26 in Nashville, Tenn. Ozarks’ PBL chapter is under the direction of advisor Dr. Robert Hilton.

Study Night Breakfast May 7

   The annual Study Night Breakfast will be held at 10 p.m., Tuesday, May 7, in the Student Center.
   As usual, faculty and staff members provide students a break from studying for exams by serving them an evening breakfast, and there will be numerous door prizes and other gifts handed out. If you are a faculty or staff member and would like to volunteer as a server, please contact the Student Life Office.

Ozarks adds Kappa Delta Pi
   The University of the Ozarks chartered the Alpha Alpha Sigma chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, an International Honor Society in Education, during a special ceremony on Saturday, April 27.
   Dr. Janet Rogers, International President of Kappa Delta Pi and Professor of Education at Northeastern State University at Tahlequah, Oklahoma, conducted the ceremony. Dr. George C. Stone, Professor of Education at Ozarks and chapter counselor, assisted. Approval for the chapter was granted by the Kappa Delta Pi Executive Council.
   Membership in the honor society is by invitation only and is extended to undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and professional educators who have demonstrated superior scholarship and leadership achievements. The top 10 percent of those entering or working in the field of education are members of the Society.
   Kappa Delta Pi includes more than 60,000 members in 550 chapters in colleges and universities throughout the United States and fourteen countries. The organization recognizes and promotes excellence in education. Seventeen members were inducted as charter members of this chapter:
   Samantha Armstrong, Sarah Boen, Fiorella Bove, Martha Caldwell, Audrey Crumbliss, Glenda Ezell, Cody Gebhart, Ashley Hauptman, Amanda James, Kristin Martin, Regena Mason, Valerie McClaine, Leanitz Pelts, Holly Rexroat, Dr. Betty Robinson, Misty Tanner and Miranda White.

Any information to be included in the Campus Communique can be done by calling the
PR office at (479)-979-1420, Larry Isch

Public Relations Office,
Mabee Administration Building,
Unversity of the Ozarks, Clarksville, AR 72830.
Phone: (479)-979-1420

Copyright 2001 The University of the Ozarks, Public Relations Office. All RIGHTS RESERVED.
URL: http://www.ozarks.edu/communique/index.html
Please submit questions or comments to webmaster@ozarks.edu.
Copyright 2001 The University of the Ozarks. All RIGHTS RESERVED.
All trademarks mentioned herein belong to their respective owners.
URL http://www.ozarks.edu/index.html