Volume 2 Issue # 15
Monday, May 1, 2000

Back to

Campus News

50th Anniversary Celebration

   President Emeritus Dr. Fritz Ehren and his wife, Juanita, celebrated their 50th Wedding Anniversary on Sunday, April 2, at the First Presbyterian Church in Clarksville. Dr. Ehren served as president at Ozarks from 1982-90. The University presented a Waterford Crystal Eagle to them in honor of this wonderful occasion.


   The 2000 edition of “WHO’S WHO AMONG STUDENTS IN AMERICAN UNIVERSITIES AND COLLEGES” will include the names of 24 students from University of the Ozarks who have been selected as national outstanding campus leaders.    
    Outstanding students have been honored in the annual directory since it was first published in 1934. Campus nominating committees and editors of the annual directory have included the names of these students based on their academic achievement, service to the community, leadership in extracurricular activities and potential for continued success.
    The 24 students from U of O are: Kendra Akin, Richard Armstrong, Louis Aszod, Cesar Cervantes, Robert Cheatham, Curtis Divine, Gabriela Fernandez Franco, Sonia Moreno Gonzalez, Karron Herbst, Emily Howard, Jackie Jeffries, Jenny Leggett, Jeffery Lewey, Cooper Mann, Otto Lagos Mejia, Crista Miser, Jesus Manuel Palma, Marcela Velasco Pang, Maria Pineda, Cynthia Padilla Salgado, Lidia Sierra, Meskerem Tsegaye, Joshua Williams, and Aaron Windel.
    Congratulations to each of you for this distinction.


    Some Universities and Napster are being sued by Metallica and a few other rock groups for copyright infringement as a result of students copying unauthorized MP3 files onto the school's file servers.
    Therefore, the University will be deleting any such files immediately upon discovery. As an additional measure, software which will allow certain applications, such as Napster, to be blocked from being installed has been ordered. The lab workstations will be locked down, but students can still install software on their personal computers. For more information or any questions, please contact Teresa Johnson in Computer Services at ext. 1231.

  The U of O late-semester tradition of Study-Night Breakfast, where faculty and staff serve a hearty, late-night meal to study-stressed students, will be held at 10 p.m., Tuesday, May 9, in the Seay Student Center. Faculty and staff who wish to volunteer for this fun-filled evening can contact the Academic Affairs Office.

   All student network IDs, home directories and e-mail IDs will be deleted at the end of the Spring 2000 semester. If you have data you need to save, please contact Computer Services prior to May 12, 2000. It is necessary to take these actions in order to tighten security and clean up server space.
    Returning students will be given new IDs and e-mail for the Fall 2000 semester. Summer sessions students should contact Computer Services on May 15.

   Jeannett Willis has decided to step down as the director of physical plant, effective July 1. She will be our assistant director of physical plant. We want to thank Jeannett for her exemplary service.
    We are proud to welcome Lee Garrison as our new director of physical plant, also effective July 1. We are pleased that Lee and Jeannett will be able to continue their outstanding teamwork in their new positions

   Remodeling is over, and we are receiving new merchandise every week. We have gifts for the graduates, Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. We have just received a shipment of gardening books, cookbooks, and top 10 Christian fiction and nonfiction books. In stock now are the top 10 Christian CDs. Our first new clothes order is in for the girls. There is a very cute T-shirt. Stop in to see all the new merchandise.
    For those who would like to get cash for their used books, the time is near. Book-Buy-Back is Tuesday, May 9, through Thursday, May 11, from 9:30 a.m. until 3:30 p.m.
    The bookstore will also be having an Overstock Sale on May 2-5. Some items will be as much as 75 percent off. A select group of clothes will be 20 percent off. Come check out the bargains.

   On Friday, April 21, Jim Abbuhl and Jessica Musselman attended the Arkansas Board of Higher Education meeting at Arkansas Tech.
    Jessica, a freshman from Perryville, Arkansas, addressed the Board representing the Ozarks student body and students who received the Academic Challenge Scholarship. She thanked the Board for the scholarship and encouraged the continued state funding of the program. Jessica did an excellent job speaking in front of the board and approximately 75 audience members.

   The Executive Outreach Association is making its plans now for the fall. This organization plans to bring in experienced executive and professional people from the workforce to discuss all topics of possible interest. The EOA wants to help bridge the gap between text materials and the complex business environment. For more information, contact Douglas Dennett at 979-2789.

    eturning student financial award letters for the academic year 2000-2001 will be mailed to students’ home addresses after spring grades are posted. If you wish for your award letter to be mailed somewhere other than the home address, please advise the Financial Aid Office as soon as possible.

   The Athletic Department will hold its annual Athletic Banquet to honor its student-athletes at 6:30 p.m., Thursday, May 4, in the Seay Student Center. Cost of the banquet for non student-athletes is $5. Come out and support the students who represent Ozarks on the athletic fields and courts.

   The U of O Board of Trustees announced its annual faculty/staff awards during the Trustees’ Awards Banquet, April 28. The Richard and Katherene Bagwell Outstanding Faculty Awards went to Dr. Frank Knight and Dr. Todd Watson. The Alvin C. Broyles Outstanding Professional Staff Award went to Wilma Harris of the Registrar’s Office, and the Broyles Outsanding Support Staff Award went to Lee Garrison of the Physical Plant Department. Congratulations to the winners of these prestigious honors.

   The Freshman Seminar: Heroes is raising money for the National World War II Memorial Fund. The group has put donation buckets in several locations around the community, including Harvest Foods, Wal-Mart, and Dodge’s Store. On campus, there will be donation buckets in the Mabee Administration Building and in the Seay Student Center. This group is also selling raffle tickets for $1 to win prizes such as gift cards, phone cards, movie passes and a tank of gas. The grand prize is a $50 gift certificate to Morgan’s. These freshmen decided to raise money for this cause because they have been made aware of the call for appreciating what the veterans of World War II sacrificed for this country. Show your gratitude to the veterans by purchasing a raffle ticket or contributing to the donation buckets. For more information, contact Sharon Hershberger at 979-2637 or visit the National WWII website at www.wwIImemorial.com.

Any information to be included in the Campus Communique can be done by calling the
PR office at (479)-979-1420, Larry Isch

Public Relations Office,
Mabee Administration Building,
Unversity of the Ozarks, Clarksville, AR 72830.
Phone: (479)-979-1420

Copyright © 2001 The University of the Ozarks, Public Relations Office. All RIGHTS RESERVED.
URL: http://www.ozarks.edu/communique/index.html
Please submit questions or comments to webmaster@ozarks.edu.
Copyright © 2001 The University of the Ozarks. All RIGHTS RESERVED.
All trademarks mentioned herein belong to their respective owners.
URL http://www.ozarks.edu/index.html